South Carolina SR-22 Insurance
Free High-Risk Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent
Rachael Brennan has been working in the insurance industry since 2006 when she began working as a licensed insurance representative for 21st Century Insurance, during which time she earned her Property and Casualty license in all 50 states. After several years she expanded her insurance expertise, earning her license in Health and AD&D insurance as well. She has worked for small health in...
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent
UPDATED: Dec 4, 2023
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
What is South Carolina SR-22 Insurance?
A South Carolina SR-22 car insurance certificate, or financial responsibility insurance form, is a document that serves as proof that a driver is financially responsible for carrying the minimum required car insurance.
Six major factors affect car insurance rates in South Carolina. Which auto insurance factors will affect SR-22 rates the most? Typically that’s a SC DUI conviction.
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, SR-22 car insurance must be carried by uninsured drivers who were involved in an accident and failed to pay for injuries or damages they caused; drivers with unsatisfied judgments; drivers with more than three mandatory insurance violation convictions; drivers whose licenses were revoked; and drivers operating a vehicle under mandatory insurance supervisions.
Are There Different Types of South Carolina SR-22 Insurance Forms?
There three types of South Carolina SR-22 auto insurance forms: operator, owner and operator-owner. Operator’s SR-22 car insurance certificate is for drivers who operate but do not own a vehicle. Owner’s SR-22 insurance certificate is for drivers who own and operate a vehicle. Operator’s-Owner’s SR-22 car insurance certificate is for all vehicles owned or not owned by a driver.
Is SR-22 Car Insurance Required in South Carolina?
If convicted of a serious moving violation, drivers in South Carolina must carry liability insurance and file a South Carolina SR-22 auto insurance form with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Failure to do either will cost you a $500 fine and suspension of your driver’s license and registration if you are stopped by a police officer during a routine traffic stop or accident.
How Do I File a South Carolina SR-22 Insurance Form?
Your insurance company files your South Carolina SR-22 car insurance form with the South Carolina DMV. You will be charged a processing fee, which can vary among insurers. You can go (here) to request a quote from insurance agencies in your area. The insurance company will forward the SR-22 auto insurance form to the DMV within 30 days. If accepted, you will receive the SR-22 along with a letter from the DMV. A South Carolina SR-22 insurance form must be maintained for three years, and you must renew it at least 45 days before it expires. Your insurer will notify the State if you fail to renew your SR-22 insurance form at least 15 days before the expiration date, and your driving record may be suspended until your South Carolina SR-22 car insurance form is reinstated.