SR-22 Insurance State Guide
Free High-Risk Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent
Rachael Brennan has been working in the insurance industry since 2006 when she began working as a licensed insurance representative for 21st Century Insurance, during which time she earned her Property and Casualty license in all 50 states. After several years she expanded her insurance expertise, earning her license in Health and AD&D insurance as well. She has worked for small health in...
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent
UPDATED: Jan 18, 2023
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
SR-22 State Guide: Get Started
If you are required to have SR-22 car insurance by the state in which you drive, it is very important
to understand the state minimum requirements for car insurance coverage. A SR-22 auto insurance form is a
special kind of auto insurance that shows the state that you are financially responsible for carrying
insurance on your vehicle at or above the state required minimum levels.
SR-22 car insurance is usually required of drivers who have had multiple traffic violations related to
car insurance or serious moving violations like reckless driving or driving under the influence. The
state then requires the driver to file an SR-22 insurance form with their proof of insurance with the
appropriate state agency to prove that the driver is operating their vehicle with the legal amount of
car insurance coverage.
Because SR-22 car insurance must prove that you are driving with the legal levels of coverage for your
state, it is very important to know the rules for SR-22 insurance in your state. Below are some of the
regulations for SR-22 insurance in certain states, but you can get more information by clicking
Arizona law requires that drivers who have had Arizona driver’s license suspensions or revocations need
to file an SR-22 insurance form with the Arizona Secretary of State’s office in Phoenix. The Arizona SR-22
insurance form must show that the driver carries at least the state minimum amounts of liability auto
insurance coverage for the state, which include bodily injury liability of no less than $15,000 for one
person and $30,000 for the whole accident, as well as at least $10,000 in property damage liability insurance.
In Arizona, SR-22 insurance forms must be filed for a minimum of 3 years, but it can be more, depending on
the circumstances of the SR-22 insurance requirement.
In California, SR-22 insurance forms are required of drivers who are considered “high risk.” California
high risk drivers include those who have been convicted for Driving While Intoxicated and reckless driving,
as well as those who have their licenses suspended or revoked. Drivers should file their California SR-22
insurance form with the California Department of Motor Vehicles for at least three years. The California
SR-22 insurance form should show that the driver is carrying $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in
personal injury liability as well as $5,000 in property damage liability car insurance.
Like other states, Colorado uses a driver’s license point system, and drivers who have too many points
on their license for various moving violations will need to file a Colorado SR-22 insurance form. Any driver
required by the state needs file their SR-22 insurance form with the State of Colorado, regardless if they
own their own vehicle or not. The Colorado SR-22 insurance form needs to prove to the state that the driver
is responsible for carrying at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 total in bodily injury liability and at
least $15,000 in property damage liability auto insurance.
If you drive in Florida, SR-22 insurance forms are required for drivers who have had traffic offenses such
as driving under the influence or have legal judgments against them for not paying for an accident they caused.
The Florida SR-22 insurance form must show that a driver is carrying at least $10,000 for one person, $20,000
for two or more persons in an accident, as well as $10,000 in property damage liability and uninsured motorist
protection. Once the driver purchases auto insurance with these state minimums, the car insurance company
(that must be licensed to sell insurance within the state) will file the Florida SR-22 insurance form with
the Secretary of State.
In Illinois, SR-22 insurance form must be filed with the Illinois Secretary of State by the insurance
company on behalf of drivers with specific moving violations related to car insurance, including drivers’
license revocation or suspension because of driving without car insurance. Illinois SR-22 forms are also
required of drivers who have had their licenses suspended because of unsatisfied judgments for an accident
they caused. The Illinois SR-22 insurance form must show that the driver has at least $20,000 in bodily
injury liability with a $40,000 limit for the whole accident, as well as $15,000 in property damage and
$20,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury liability coverage.
In Missouri, SR-22 insurance forms are required of drivers who have had a Missouri DWI, drivers who
refuse a BAC test during a DWI stop, as well as Missouri drivers who failed to have continuous active
car insurance. The Missouri SR-22 insurance requirement calls for drivers to carry a minimum of $25,000
per person and$50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability, and $10,000 for property damage liability.
Usually, the Missouri SR-22 insurance form must be filed with the Missouri DMV for a minimum of two years
after the incident that led to the SR-22 insurance form requirement.
Ohio, SR-22 insurance forms need to be filed with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Ohio drivers who
are generally asked to file SR-22 insurance forms include drivers who caused over $400 property damage
during an accident, uninsured drivers who caused bodily injury or death to another motorist, drivers could
not show a valid proof of auto insurance to a police officer during a stop, and drivers who have been
convicted of serious traffic violations like reckless driving. The Ohio SR-22 insurance form needs to
show that the motorist carries at least $12,500 per person and $25,000 total per accident in bodily injury
and $7,500 in personal property damage liability auto insurance.
The Texas Department of Public Safety is very strict when it comes to drivers who are convicted of
driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated, and they require Texas SR-22 insurance forms
those drivers as well as anyone convicted of any drug offense. In Texas, SR-22 insurance forms are also
required for motorists who are caught driving with a suspended license, without insurance or who have
been involved in an accident when they didn’t have valid auto insurance. In Texas, valid car insurance
limits are $25,000 per person per accident, $50,000 for more than one person in an accident in personal
injury liability coverage, and at least $25,000 in property damage coverage.