Rhode Island SR-22 Insurance
Free High-Risk Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 2, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
What is Rhode Island SR-22 Insurance?
In Rhode Island, SR-22 car insurance is required for a driver who has lost his driving privileges as proof that he is financially responsible for carrying the minimum car insurance required by the state.
Six major factors affect car insurance rates in Rhode Island. Which auto insurance factors will affect SR-22 rates the most? Typically that’s a RI DUI.
Who Needs SR-22 Car Insurance?
In Rhode Island, SR-22 car insurance forms must be filed by uninsured drivers who were involved in an accident they caused and failed to pay compensatory damages; drivers with unsatisfied judgments; drivers whose licenses were revoked; drivers operating a vehicle under mandatory insurance supervision; and drivers with three or more convictions for violating mandatory insurance laws.
Is SR-22 Car Insurance Required in Rhode Island?
Motorists convicted of these serious moving violations in the state of Rhode Island must carry liability insurance and file a Rhode Island SR-22 auto insurance form with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Failure to do either will result in a $500 fine and suspension of your driver’s license and registration.
Are There Different Types of Rhode Island SR-22 Insurance Forms?
Drivers in Rhode Island can file one of three different types of SR-22 car insurance forms. Operator’s SR-22 insurance covers financial responsibility for drivers who operate but do not own a vehicle. Owner’s SR-22 insurance covers drivers who own and operate a vehicle. Operator’s-Owner’s SR-22 insurance covers all vehicles owned or not owned by a driver.
How Do I File a Rhode Island SR-22 Car Insurance Form?
Your insurance company files your request for a Rhode Island SR-22 auto insurance form with the Rhode Island DMV. You will be required to pay a processing fee, which varies among agencies. You can go (here) to request a quote from insurance agencies in your area. The insurance company will send SR-22 insurance form to the DMV within 30 days and will send the SR-22 insurance form to you once it is accepted. You must maintain the SR-22 auto insurance form for three years and renew it at least 45 days before its expiration date. Your insurer is required to notify the State if the SR-22 auto insurance form is not renewed at least 15 days before the expiration date. The State may then suspend your driving record until your Rhode Island SR-22 insurance is reinstated.