Free High-Risk Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
What is New York SR22 Insurance?
SR-22 car insurance actually refers to special auto insurance forms that are typically used in cases of motorists who have had certain serious moving violations like DUI or DWI, have lost their licenses for whatever reason, and those who are considered more high risk by insurers. However, in the State of New York, SR22 car insurance forms are not required by law, though the state has certain laws about car insurance.
Who Needs SR22 Insurance in New York?
If a motorist has lost his or her driver’s license in another state and is required by that state to have an SR-22 insurance form filed in order to reinstate their license, they will need to continue to file with that state. Before moving, it is always a good idea to check with the state that you are moving to, in order to find out if they have SR-22 auto insurance form requirements. If they do not, like New York, you will likely still need to file with the state that you formerly resided.
Are There Different Types of NY SR22 Insurance Forms?
In the State of New York, no. However, the State in which you have previously filed an SR22 car insurance form with may require you to have certain certificates depending on your status as a driver and if you do own your own vehicle or not.
Is a New York SR-22 Car Insurance Form Required?
No, however, in the State of New York you will need to both prove that you have a minimum level of liability auto insurance coverage in order to register your vehicle, as well as maintain that level of coverage. These minimums are liability coverage for bodily injury in the amount of either $25,000 for one person, or $50,000 for two, property damage coverage for $10,000. Additionally, you will need to obtain PIP or Personal Injury Protection coverage in the amount of $50,000 as well as 25/50 underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage limits. While in the state of New York, SR 22 car insurance forms are not required, motorists must still maintain these minimum amounts of car insurance coverage.