Free High-Risk Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
What is Oregon SR22 Insurance?
An Oregon SR22 car insurance form, or financial responsibility insurance certificate, is a document carried by a driver as proof that he is financially responsible for carrying the minimum required car insurance as mandated by law.
Who Needs an Oregon SR-22 Car Insurance Form?
In the state of Oregon, SR-22 car insurance forms must be filed by drivers involved in an accident while uninsured and who failed to pay for damages or bodily injury they caused; drivers with unsatisfied judgments; drivers whose drivers’ licenses were revoked or are under mandatory insurance supervision; and drivers with three or more mandatory insurance violation convictions.
Are There Different Types of Oregon SR22 Auto Insurance Forms?
Motorists in the state of Oregon can file one of three forms of SR-22 car insurance certificates. An Operator’s SR22 insurance covers financial responsibility for drivers who operate but do not own a car. Owner’s SR22 insurance covers drivers who own and operate a car. Operator’s-Owner’s SR insurance covers all vehicles owned or not owned by a driver.
Is SR22 Insurance Required in Oregon?
Motorists in Oregon must carry liability insurance or file an OR SR22 insurance certificate with the Oregon Department of Transportation. Failure to do either results in a $500 fine and suspension of your license and registration if you are ever stopped by a police officer during an accident or traffic stop.
How Do I File an Oregon SR22 Insurance Form?
Your insurer can file an Oregon SR-22 auto insurance form with the state. Your insurer will charge a processing fee for the filing, and this fee varies among agencies. You can request a free online quote from state-authorized insurance agencies for Oregon SR22 car insurance forms. The insurance company will file the SR22 with the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicles Division of the Department of Transportation within 30 days. You should receive the SR-22 insurance from your insurer if accepted, along with a letter from the Oregon DMV. You must maintain your Oregon SR22 auto insurance form for three years and renewed at least 15 days–preferably 45 days–before it expires. Your insurer is required to notify the State if your Oregon SR22 car insurance filing lapses, and your driving record will be suspended until the SR22 is reinstated.