Free High-Risk Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
What is Nevada SR22 Insurance?
Nevada SR22 car insurance is used to help protect motorists against uninsured drivers by making sure that certain motorists are carrying continuous and adequate amounts of liability coverage. The state does require that insurance carriers file the form to act as proof that a driver remains financially accountable in the event of an accident.
Who Needs SR22 Insurance in Nevada?
Those who have any safety responsibility violations will need to file an SR22 in the State of Nevada. This means that if a motorist has been involved in an accident but did not have insurance and did not pay the required compensation, they will need to file. Also, those who have had their licenses revoked and wish to have it reinstated will need to file a Nevada SR-22 insurance form, as well as those with unsatisfied judgment suspensions.
Are There Different Types of Nevada SR22 Forms?
The State of Nevada recognizes three certificates in terms of SR22 forms. The first of these is the Owner’s Certificate, used in the event that the motorist does own a vehicle, the second is the Operator’s Certificate, which would be used when a motorist drives but does not own a vehicle. An Owner-Operator Certificate may be used for motorists who drive both vehicles that do and do not belong to them.
Is SR22 Car Insurance Required in NV?
Yes. In Nevada, SR22 auto insurance is required in accordance to Nevada State Law requiring 15/30/10 liability coverage. Additionally, this coverage needs to be maintained for a minimum of 36 months. Failure to maintain coverage will result in the insurer notifying the Department of Motor Vehicles that coverage has lapsed and this may result in penalties.
How Do I File a Nevada SR22 Car Insurance Form?
Customers that need to file a Nevada SR-22 auto insurance form would want to contact an insurance carrier that is authorized in the State of Nevada. The insurance agency may apply the fee for this to the insurance premium, and this fee will vary between companies. Upon receipt of the request, it may take up to 30 days for the central office to send the form on to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Get your Nevada SR22 insurance quote quickly; fill in your information to find out more!