Louisiana SR-22 Insurance
Free High-Risk Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 2, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
What is Louisiana SR-22 Insurance?
A Louisiana SR-22 car insurance certificate, or a financial responsibility insurance form, is a document that serves as proof that a driver is financially responsible for carrying the minimum car insurance required by the state.
Six major factors affect car insurance rates in Louisiana. Which auto insurance factors will affect SR-22 rates the most? Typically that’s a LA DUI.
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, motorists who were involved in accident, were uninsured at the time, and failed to pay compensatory damages; drivers with unsatisfied judgments; or drivers whose licenses were revoked for other reasons must all carry Louisiana SR-22 insurance.
Are There Different Types of Louisiana SR-22 Insurance Forms?
Yes, there three types of Louisiana SR-22 auto insurance: Operator, Owner and Operator-Owner. Operator’s SR-22 insurance covers drivers who operate but do not own a vehicle. Owner’s SR-22 insurance covers drivers who own and operate a vehicle. Operator’s-Owner’s SR-22 insurance covers all vehicles owned or not owned by a driver.
Is SR-22 Insurance Required in Louisiana?
Motorists in the state of Louisiana must carry liability insurance or file a SR-22 form with the Louisiana Department of Public Safety. If you are stopped by a police officer during a traffic stop or accident and you don’t have insurance, you will end up paying a $500 fine and face suspension of your driver’s license and registration. Then you will have to pay a fee to have your license and registration reinstated.
How Do I File a Louisiana SR-22 Insurance Form?
Your insurance company files your request for an SR-22 with the Louisiana Department of Public Safety. You will be required to pay a processing fee, which varies among agencies. You can go (here) to request a quote from insurance agencies in your area. Once your Louisiana SR-22 insurance form is accepted, your insurer will send you the SR-22 along with a letter from the Department of Public Safety. Louisiana SR-22 auto insurance must be maintained for three years. Your insurer will notify the State if you fail to renew your Louisiana SR-22 insurance at least 15 days before the expiration date. The State may suspend your driving record until your Louisiana SR-22 car insurance is reinstated.